A walk of love

I been wanting  do a Nizamuddin Basti walk for long but never had the courage to do it . I have been that area many times mainly to listen to the Ghazals and enjoy the food that is sold in the area. There is so much of love and devotion in Nizamuddin that I feel I’m not qualified to do justice to the walk.

So I ordered a few books, googled a few articles that’s when I stumbled on this. If you have ever been in love like deeply in love  ( or in doubt)  then you will be able feel your heart racing.

So this was my formal introduction to Khusro, one of the greatest poets of the world. The greatest influence in Khusro life was his Pir (spiritual teacher) Hazrat Nizamuddin, who died in 1325 AD and grieving for him, Amir Khusro also left for his heavenly abode within six months. It is said that after hearing the death of Hazrat, Amir Khusro rushed to the Delhi and on seeing his pir’s grave, he blackened his face and rolled over in dust in utter grief, tearing his garments, reciting the following Hindi doha impromptu

If you have loved and lost, you will be able to feel the pain Khusro must have felt at that time.

Nizamuddin Dargah walk is  walk of love-  If there is one story that it tells it is the story of love and loss. But like a very wise man said once- we meet to depart and we depart to meet again. I’m confused as to what I’m going to do on this walk. I hope that clears by tomorrow and I hope I will be able to to do this walk. Hazrat, I need some help here.

Leave a comment